2020 was an extremely successful year for Margaret River Hockey – the Year 6-8 Girls’, A2 Women’s’ and Year 9-12 Boys’ were named runners-ups while the Year 6-8 boys were crowned premiers. Not only that, but the A2 men finished in bronze and a great influx of new players joined the club in the Primary school age group.

The end of season club wind-up and awards event at Cowaramup Brewing Co, was well attended and Club President Colin Fox  said  “I’m tremendously proud of the club, despite having to work around the issues of COVID-19 restrictions, with great coaches, managers and an awesome committee, plus all of the players, we have made it a memorable season, obviously, it was a shorter playing season with a lot more challenges than any year we’ve seen. As the outgoing President, I’d like to thank you all very sincerely for making this happen. That kind of teamwork is the only way the club will continue to improve”.

The following awards were  given out by the fabulous coaches.

Year 3-5 (Boys &Girls) Team

  • Coach’s Award – Summer Kruger
  • Coach’s Award – Hugo Underwood
  • Encouragement Award – Bailey Adams
  • Encouragement Award – Ethan Hurford

Year 6-8 Girls Team

  • Coach’s Award – Coco Stent
  • Most Improved – Asha Jenkins
  • Encouragement Award – Hannah Bredenkamp
  • Encouragement Award – Georgie Ding
  • Encouragement Award – Bailey Duggan
  • Team Best and Fairest – Olivia Brown
  • League Best and Fairest – Olivia Brown

Year 6-8 Boys Team

  • Rising Star – Shaun Gannaway
  • Encouragement Award – Lewin Barnsley
  • Encouragement Award – Caspian Ensor
  • Encouragement Award – Fletcher Lawrence
  • Most Valuable Player – Lincoln Rourke
  • Best and Fairest in the Grand Final – Lincoln Rourke
  • Team Best and Fairest – Oscar Male
  • League Best and Fairest – Oscar Male

Year 9-12 Girls Team

  • Rising Star – Georgie Gannaway
  • Most Valuable Player – Chloe Altmann
  • Team Best and Fairest – Helena Willliams
  • Service to Junior Hockey – Ashley Jarvis
  • Service to Junior Hockey – Chloe Altmann

Year 9-12 Boys Team

  • Encouragement Award – Kai Henschel
  • Encouragement Award – Sam O’Loughlin
  • Encouragement Award – Bailey Kelly
  • Most Valuable Player – Angus Currell
  • Rising Star – Tom Gorta 
  • Team Best and Fairest – Oscar Male
  • League Best and Fairest – Oscar Male
  • Service to Junior Hockey – Conor Callow
  • Clubman Boy – Conor Callow
  • Clubman Boy – Henry Gorta

A2 Women

  • Coaches award – Sophie Ablett
  • Team Best and Fairest – Claire Sieber

A2 Men

  • Team Best and Fairest – Dan Stocker
  • Team Best and Fairest – Brynley Jenkins
  • Players Player – Pete Wright

Margaret River Hockey Club

  • Above the Line Award Nominee – Andy Male
  • Above the Line Award Nominee – Rebecca Gorta
  • Above the Line Award Nominee – Helena Williams
  • Above the Line Award Nominee – Cilla Bevan
  • Above the Line Award Nominee – Jen Boyle
  • Above the Line Award Winner – Oscar Male

Thanks so much to all our club supporters, fundraisers and sponsors, we look forward to working with you next year.

Enjoy the break folks!